Warcraft Movie Review by Eugene Alejandro

After many years, an official major motion picture adaptation of the popular Warcraft franchise from Blizzard Entertainment has been made this year that is directed and co-written by Duncan Jones (of MOON and Source Code fame).

I will admit that I have never played any of the Warcraft games, and also read any of its lore, but from seeing the trailers for the movie adaptation of it, it did get me interested in wanting to watch it. Even though I was hearing some negative reviews for the film before it hit theaters, I was still interested in seeing it, and to my surprise (against the negative reviews I heard), the movie is a very enjoyable and entertaining fantasy action movie.

I’m not going to say that this movie is a masterpiece in the fantasy genre like the Lord of The Rings movies, The Dark Crystal, the first Neverending Story film, and even the fantasy films that Studio Ghibli has made and released, but I will say that the movie is very miss-understood by some critics as the Warcraft movie is a good example of how to make a very good movie based on a video game property (no offense to those critic’s opinions on it).

The biggest and noticeable achievement the Warcraft movie has is its special effects, and its production values. This movie really does look like a 160 Million Dollar budgeted film as it looks very well-made with the setting truly feeling like a typical fantasy world, and the buildings and landscapes are also really well-done. The practical and computer effects are also really amazing as the Orcs look very real, and the graphics used to make them move and speak is of professional quality (one Orc character is an actress in make-up, and the make-up for her is great as well). The armor that some of the characters wear, and other computer made effects are also another accomplishment the film has done.

The story and writing in this movie has a lot of surprising parallels to already existing stories, but they are incorporated very well and work thus making the movie’s story fun.

The acting is also solid. My favorite performance is the voice acting by Daniel Yu as Gul’dan (an Orc mage, and the antagonist in the Warcraft film). His voice fits the character because he did a fantastic job at portraying the character’s sinister personality with a deep accent, and it also works well as an Ork accent in general. The rest of the cast also turned in good performances.

Ramin Djawadi’s music is some of the best music I’ve ever heard. The music has an epic and triumphant tone to it that works well with the movie’s story.

Since I saw this movie in IMAX 3D, I can totally say that the 3D is great in this film as it does work a lot and helps the movie feel like something even better (the special effects also look good to look at in 3D as well).

The only flaw I have with this movie is that to me, it felt way too simple of a fantasy story with some parts being predictable, and while the movie has a decent ending, it’s pretty much a desperate sequel set-up (hopefully a sequel does get made).

If you are a fan of the Warcraft franchise, I recommend giving the Warcraft movie a watch as the makers of the movie obviously cared about adapting the property into an entertaining movie, and it’s nice to see the property finally get made into a movie.

I give the Warcraft movie 2 Thumbs Up, and 4/5 Stars

Published by

Eugene Alejandro

My name is Eugene Alejandro, and Supreme Writer Studios is the name of my personal blog site where I write and post my reviews, lists, essays, etc on the internet.

One thought on “Warcraft Movie Review by Eugene Alejandro”

Leave a Reply

