Godzilla: The Half Century War Review by Eugene Alejandro

Please read James Stokoe’s Godzilla The Half Century War from IDW Publishing if your a Godzilla fan that wants to read a brilliantly written and brilliantly drawn Godzilla comic.

The reason why it’s called the half century war is because all five issues are set in different years with the first issue being set in 1954, and the fifth and final issue is set in 2002. Issue two takes place in 1967, issue three is set in 1975, and the fourth issue is in the year 1987.

Godzilla The Half Century War is an amazing comic because it’s an ambitious story that James Stokoe put lots of heart, soul, passion, and effort into making as each issue has strong writing and phenomenal artwork by him.

Even though I’ve just said this, James Stokoe’s art in Godzilla The Half Century War is without a doubt some of the greatest art I’ve never seen in a Godzilla comic. The Kaiju and the environments have huge amounts of detail put into them, and the colors also help the atmosphere that the art is meant to represent. My only nitpick with the art is that sometimes the human characters look a bit cartoonish looking.

A dislike that I have is that I didn’t feel that SpaceGodzilla should have been in issue #4, while King Ghidorah and Gigan were in issue #5. In my opinion, it needed to be the reverse because any Godzilla fan should know that SpaceGodzilla is a much more powerful foe than King Ghidorah and Gigan are.

Overall, Godzilla The Half Century War is a well-written and well-illustrated comic in the Godzilla franchise by James Stokoe that I absolutely recommend to every fan of Godzilla, as well as the Kaiju genre as a whole.

I give Godzilla The Half Century War 5/5 Stars, and Two Thumbs Up.

Published by

Eugene Alejandro

My name is Eugene Alejandro, and Supreme Writer Studios is the name of my personal blog site where I write and post my reviews, lists, essays, etc on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Godzilla: The Half Century War Review by Eugene Alejandro”

  1. Well done Eugene. I have to agree I do have these sitting on my hard drive. The artwork is impressive and the colors in my opinion a little offsetting. But all in all a pretty decent comic even though I haven’t read these in a very long time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

