Space Jam Review by Eugene Alejandro

If you are in the mood to watch a fun sports movie, the Looney Tunes film Space Jam (in my opinion) is what I can easily recommend.

Space Jam’s story is that Mr. Swackhammer; the person in charge of the amusement park in space called Moron Mountain, sends his minions known as the Nerdlucks to bring the Looney Tunes to that the park as a means to increase the success of it. The Looney Tunes refuse to go with the Nerdlucks unless they win to them at a game of Basketball. The Nerdlucks decide to literally steal the talents of famous Basketball players such as Muggsy Bogues, Patrick Ewing, Larry Johnson, Charles Barkley, and Shawn Bradley as a means to beat the Looney Tunes at their Basketball game, and send them to Mr. Swackhammer. In desperate need of help, the tunes decide to bring Michael Jordan to their world and convince him to help them defeat the Nerdlucks. Michael Jordan agrees, and he teaches the tunes how to play basketball in order to beat the Nerdlucks, and prevent Mr. Swackhammer’s goal from happening (I’m not making this up. This is really the plot of the movie).

While Space Jam is in no way an Oscar worthy epic cinematic masterpiece, it’s still an entertaining movie with clever writing, good acting, and brilliant 2D animation that’s sure to please fans of Looney Tunes, and Basketball. There are only 3 things that I don’t like in this film.

The first being the very bad CGI. I’m aware that this movie was made in 1996, but I still found the computer effects to be very off putting and out of place from the very good traditional animation.

My second dislike is the character Lola Bunny. To me, she felt like a very unnecessary addition to the cast of Looney Tunes characters for this movie as she’s only in it to just be Bugs Bunny’s love interest.

My third and final complaint is the fact that the story at times would you cut to the lives of the other 4 Basketball players after their talents were stolen. I understand that it was done to give them some character development, but it still felt like it it would’ve work better had they been deleted scenes in the DVD bonus features.

Overall, Space Jam is good family entertainment that will please kids, teens, and adults, as well as fans of both Basketball and Looney Tunes.

I give Space Jam 4/5 Stars, and Two Thumbs Up.

Published by

Eugene Alejandro

My name is Eugene Alejandro, and Supreme Writer Studios is the name of my personal blog site where I write and post my reviews, lists, essays, etc on the internet.

One thought on “Space Jam Review by Eugene Alejandro”

  1. Well I just read your review on Space Jame and you hit it on the mark. Especially your dislikes are what I felt were off about the movie, but I haven’t seen it in years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

